It’s that time of year again. The most wonderful time of the year, so many holidays, and so many treats. It’s wonderful but not so wonderful for the waistline. I have a huge sweet tooth, so for me to swear off all treats during the holidays is just not even an option. If you are self controlled enough to say no to every pie and dessert YOU ARE AMAZING. But for those of us who can’t I thought I’d share my “a little bit healthier” pumpkin pie recipe.

I am dairy and gluten intolerant, therefore,  this recipe is gluten free and dairy free. Another easy modification that helps make the pie a little healthier is to use coconut sugar instead of refined sugar. Coconut sugar has a lower glycemic index as well as providing more nutrients than refined sugar.

What you’ll need.

 Gluten free pie crust. You can totally make your own from scratch. But y’all understand momlife and how that’s not always possible. So I went with this one from our local store.


A 15 ounce can of pumpkin. This is actually a 29 ounce can because I was making two pies.

A 12 ounce can of coconut cream. Most recipes call for evaporated milk but here’s a secret; coconut cream works as a great substitution.


Coconut palm sugar. Harper is very sad I took the sugar from her. Haha.


Pumpkin pie spice. Easy peasy. I didn’t have all of the separate spices so I just bought pumpkin pie spice.


2 eggs. Which I tried to let the girls crack into the bowl but they both just squeezed the eggs so shell and all went into the bowl. Haha. So I was digging out egg shell pieces for a while.

 Cinnamon

So here ya go…

  • Follow instructions for pre-baking crust
  • Preheat oven to 425
  • Mix together
  1. 15 ounces of pumpkin purée
  2. 12 ounces of coconut cream
  3. 2 eggs
  4. 3 tablespoons of pumpkin pie spice
  5. 2 teaspoons of cinnamon
  6. 3/4 cup of coconut sugar
  • Bake at 425 for 15 minutes then turn oven down to 350 for 50 minutes
  • Let cool, put in fridge for 2 hours before eating.
  •  ENJOY THE DELICIOUSNESS


 Before baking 
After baking

Ready to eat 😊👍🏼