1Y7B45181Y7B4497

Pumpkin Seeds

With Halloween this Saturday, I thought talking about pumpkin seeds and all their health benefits was almost perfect! We carved our pumpkins on Sunday night, and we always save the seeds. I rinsed them and left them to dry overnight. This is not necessary; however, I simply did not have the energy to cook them Sunday night 😉

1Y7B4502

Monday, I mixed about a Tbsp of coconut oil into my seeds, spread them on a baking sheet and sprinkled them with sea salt. I chose just a classic salt roast because my 5 year old wanted to eat them, and he can be picky. I baked mine for 17 min at 400 degrees, and they came out just perfect! If you like some spice, spice up those seeds. You can find all kinds of pumpkin seed recipes on pinterest.

1Y7B4504 1Y7B4519

I LOVE pumpkin seeds. I actually buy them year round in the bulk food isle at my local HEB. They are perfect to snack on, sprinkle on a salad or add to other recipes.

Pumpkin seeds also offer a large variety of health benefits. They are a powerful antioxidant and source of essential minerals. The seeds are high in fiber, have been associated with cancer prevention and have also been shown to help with insulin regulation. They are also valued for both their anti-microbial and anti-viral benefits. These little seeds are nutritional powerhouses, so eat them up ~ YEAR ROUND 🙂

1Y7B4522 1Y7B4521

My little helpers! Too bad my flash did not fire :( At least the rare moment of them BOTH looking at the camera was somewhat salvageable :)
My little helpers! Too bad my flash did not fire 😦 At least the rare moment of them BOTH looking at the camera was somewhat salvageable 🙂
